Eagle Forum Legislative Alerts

Sunday, January 03, 2010

Prayer breakfast slated for Friday

Alamogordo Daily News
By Duane Barbati, Staff Writer
Posted: 01/03/2010 12:00:00 AM MST

Eagle Forum will host its Legislative Prayer Breakfast on Friday.

The breakfast will begin at 7 a.m. at the Alamogordo Senior Center, 2201 Puerto Rico Ave.

The first day of the New Mexico State Legislature's regular session will be Jan. 19.

The breakfast is open to the public by reservation only. The event cost is $10 per person, but reservations must be made by 7 p.m. Thursday.

The event will include an introduction of the nine state legislators representing Otero County, a prayer service and a guest speaker, which will be announced later.

Maude O. Rathgeber, chairwoman of Eagle Forum, said she will give a brief introduction of each legislator at the breakfast.

"When we held our first Prayer Breakfast in January 1980," Rathgeber said, "we had 40 people in attendance. We honored only four legislators who then represented Otero County."

She said the 1980 breakfast had Sens. Aubrey Dunn and John Conway, and Reps. Maurice Hobson and John Mershon.

"Since then, we have grown in attendance for the breakfast," Rathgeber said. "We've also grown in numbers as to how the Otero County population is calculated in establishing those who represent us in Santa Fe."

Sens. Tim Jennings, D-District 32, Vernon Asbill, R-District 34, and Dianna Duran, R-District 40, are scheduled to be at the breakfast.

Reps. Zachary Cook, R-District 56, Nathan Cote, D-District 53, Dennis Kintigh, R-District 57, Gloria Vaughn, R-District 51, and Nora Espinoza, R-District 59, are also scheduled to be at the breakfast.

Rathgeber said the county has had good representation in Santa Fe.

"After the census, there is a redistricting of our legislative districts every 10 years," she said. "Otero County has benefited by this process. We have very good legislators that are serving us very well."

Jennings, a Roswell businessman and rancher, represents the Mescalero Apache Reservation only in Otero County. His District 32 also covers Chaves, Eddy and Lincoln counties. He has been a senator since 1979.

Asbill, who has had a long career in public education, began serving in the senate in 2005. He was also superintendent of Cloudcroft Municipal Schools for several years, then finished his career as Carlsbad's superintendent. His district covers Eddy and Otero counties. He has seven precincts on the east side of Alamogordo that spans most of the Sacramento Mountain communities.

Duran is a former two-term Otero County clerk before turning her attention toward state government. Duran was elected to the District 40 seat in 1993. Her district covers Doña Ana and Otero counties.

All senators and representatives are scheduled to attend a "meet and greet" session following the Prayer Breakfast at the Otero County Building, 1101 N. New York Ave.

People interested in making reservations for the Prayer Breakfast can contact Carol Beckett at 434-0892, Rathgeber at 437-7413 or Vaughn at 434-2819.

Contact Duane Barbati at [email protected]

Source: Alamogordo Daily News

No comments:

Post a Comment

Keep comments short. Long comments will be deleted.