Eagle Forum Legislative Alerts

Sunday, January 02, 2011

New Mexico Alamogordo breakfast event yearly draw for legislators

The 32nd Annual Legislative Prayer Breakfast, set to honor and share a prayerful occasion with Otero County state legislators, will be Friday, Jan. 7.

The event, which kicks off promptly at 7 a.m., will be held at the Alamogordo Senior Center on Indian Wells Road and Puerto Rico Avenue.

"This is our 32nd year to host this event," said Maude Rathgeber, chairman of the Eagle Forum of New Mexico. "The purpose of the breakfast is to share a prayerful time with our community and state legislators, particularly do the prayers for our legislators safety in their travel, health, for their sessions for the year to go well and their issues to go well. This year our master of ceremony will be 12th Judicial Judge Jerry H. Ritter Jr."

Otero County is represented by nine individuals in the state Legislature: three senators, and six members of the New Mexico House of Representatives.

"We will have a guest speaker," Rathgeber said. "Some legislators represent only a small portion of Otero County. But they are important to many decisions that must be made for our county and its residents."
The senators are Democrat Tim Jennings, District 32 and Republican Vernon Asbill, District 34.
A replacement for Sen. Dianna Duran, District 40 has not been appointed to her seat. Duran won the election for Secretary of State in November.

Representatives are Republicans Yvette Herrell, District 51; William Gray, District 54; Zachary Cook, District 56; Dennis Kintigh, District 57, and Nora Espinoza, District 59; and Rick Little, District 53.
"All are expected to be in attendance at the breakfast prayer program," Rathgeber said. "Hubert Quintana, representing the state, will be here Friday to hear issues from the public and assist them in finding the right contacts in the legislature."

Rathgeber said she always looks forward to attending the breakfast.

"The public is invited to the breakfast," she said. "They must make their reservations prior to attending the breakfast. I have been very happy with the service that the senior center provides us each year for the breakfast. They provide us with an excellent breakfast and courteous service year in and year out. I always look forward to seeing our legislators at the breakfast each year."

She said she believes the breakfast is a community event that's very well received.

Following the breakfast service, all the legislators will gather at the county commission chambers in the Otero County Administration Building, 1101 New York Ave., to spend the remainder of Friday listening and sharing issues and concerns with constituents. That meeting is open to the public at no charge.

The charge for the breakfast is $10 per person. Reservations must be made for the prayer breakfast no later than 7 p.m. Thursday.

For reservations contact Rathgeber at 437-7413, Carol Beckett at 434-0892 or Gloria Vaughn at 434-2819.

Originally posted at Alamogordonews.com


No comments:

Post a Comment

Keep comments short. Long comments will be deleted.